IB announces the 2022 Dr Siva Kumari MYP Student Innovators' Grant finalists


Last updated:

The IB is excited to announce the awarding of 28 grants to the 2022 Dr Siva Kumari MYP Student Innovators' Grant finalists. The Dr Siva Kumari MYP Student Innovators' Grant is an opportunity for Middle Years Programme (MYP) students to hone their skills to become the socially conscious leaders, innovators and entrepreneurs the world needs today.

The Dr Siva Kumari MYP Innovators' Grant has been recently renamed in honor of former IB Director General Dr Siva Kumari and her commitment to innovation in the field of education. Siva was always passionate about empowering students to be forces for change and innovation in their communities.

This grant was launched in 2019 and the first awards were given in 2020. For the 2022 cycle, the 28 projects selected included 22 individuals and 6 teams, totaling 41 students from 22 IB World Schools in 13 countries, for a total of  $148,450.00. The student projects were selected after a competitive two-stage application and review process supported by a global panel composed of 35 IB educators and alumni. Through the grant, finalists are encouraged to collaborate with their peers and industry experts.

The Dr Siva Kumari MYP Innovators' Grant is offered by the IB in collaboration with Ashoka, a pioneer in social entrepreneurship that supports young changemakers. The IB and Ashoka both recognize that in our rapidly changing world, the capacity to adapt and make change is a critical skill.



We would like to congratulate all finalists nominated from the following IB World Schools. 

IB World School


Aga Khan Academy Mombasa Kenya
Aga Khan Academy Nairobi Kenya
Aga Khan Academy, Hyderabad India
American International School of Bucharest Romania
Anglo Americano Prescott - Arequipa Peru
Atlanta International School United States
BBIS Berlin Brandenburg International School GmbH Germany
BINUS School Simprug Indonesia
Colegio Montserrat Spain
Fountainhead School India
Imagine International Academy of North Texas United States
Indus International School, Bangalore India
Mpesa Foundation Academy Kenya
Oakridge International School, Gachibowli India
Oberoi International School India
Oberoi International School India
Qatar Academy Doha Qatar
Sinarmas World Academy Indonesia
Stamford American International School Singapore
Stonehill International School Bangalore India
UWCEA Moshi Tanzania
Xi'an Liangjiatan International School Uganda