Workshop categories and types

International Baccalaureate® (IB) has three categories of workshop:

  • Category 1, which focus on IB philosophy and implementation
  • Category 2, which focus on delivery of the four IB programmes of education
  • Category 3, for educators to build on and enhance their professional development portfolios

Depending on your circumstances and experience, you will need workshops in a particular category.

Our workshops can be delivered in a number of ways, including face-to-face and online, both in-school or at district workshops, cluster workshops and regional conferences.

Find a workshop in your area.

Which workshops should I choose?

Choose Category 1 if you are new to the IB or if your situation is similar to any of the following:

  • You are new to the faculty of a longstanding IB World School and have not taught in an IB programme previously
  • You are aware of the IB philosophy and programme structure but are not experienced in teaching or administrating the IB
  • You are familiar with the IB subject guide (including assessment procedures and moderation) and would like greater confidence before teaching a course
  • You have inherited a course and would like to review the subject content before teaching it to suit your own style and expertise

Choose Category 2 workshops to develop your expertise in delivering an IB programme. You will have an opportunity to:

  • make connections between programme frameworks and classroom practice
  • enhance your understanding of assessment in IB programmes
  • discuss and analyse standards and practices

Choose Category 3 workshops to go more deeply into areas you enjoy and to strengthen your understanding and mastery of a particular subject.

Note: teachers and other school leaders who do not teach in an IB school but wish to sample IB learning may choose to participate in Category 3 workshops.