Grading and awards

Candidates for the internationally-recognized IB Middle Years Programme (MYP) certificate must complete eight eAssessments.

There are: 

  • on-screen examinations in:
    • Mathematics
    • Language and literature
    • Sciences
    • Individuals and societies
    • Interdisciplinary learning
  • ePortfolios (coursework) in:
    • Language acquisition
    • Physical and health education, arts, or design
  • the MYP Personal project. 

Candidates also must meet school requirements for participation in community service (service as action).

Students receive IB MYP course results for each component completed.  

How do students achieve the MYP certificate? 

The maximum total score for the IB MYP certificate is 56, with a grade from 1-7 assigned to each required eAssessment.

Students must achieve a total of at least 28 points, with a grade of '3' or higher in each eAssessment component, to be eligible to receive the IB MYP certificate.

For students who complete more than one eAssessment for each required or selected subject group, the highest available grade for that requirement contributes to the certificate total. For more details, read the general regulations for the MYP .